top of page
  • Writer's pictureSuperstar Speakers

Manchester United 1991 Cup Winners Cup 30th Anniversary Reunion

Updated: Oct 20, 2021

Superstar Speakers are absolutely delighted to be hosting a reunion of the Manchester United Legends who won the Cup Winners Cup in 1991

This achievement is one of the most important trophies in the modern era of Man United. It was the first European Trophy for Sir Alex Ferguson in his era at Old Trafford and it was the first time English football teams were allowed back into European Competition for 6 years after the Heysel Disaster

This is the trophy that made the statement that English football was back and ready to dominate in European competition and that Sir Alex Ferguson was ready to start one of the greatest eras in Manchester United and English Football history

Manchester United 1991 Cup Winners Cup

We also managed to catch up with Manchester United Captain Bryan Robson to find out his memories of the 1991 Cup Winners Cup.

Our Manchester United Legends Tour will have a 1991 Cup Winners Cup Theme as we will be celebrating this historic achievement with the Man United fans around the country where we will be bringing AT LEAST THREE of the legends of 1991 to a series of venues around the UK

This is the team that taught the class of 92. A team of 11 legends who set the standard for the modern era of Manchester United and the expectation and winning mentality that Sir Alex expected from his team.

  1. Denis Irwin

The greatest left back and right back in the league and Sir Alex Ferguson's first choice on his all time team sheet. Denis Irwin is the only man who won both the 1991 Cup Winners Cup and stayed in the team to be a vital part of the Treble 8 years later in 1999.

The joint most decorated Irish footballer of all time (joint with Roy Keane) - Irwin is the footballers footballer

2. Clayton Blackmore

To some he is Mr Dependable, to some he is Sunbed. The name Clayton Blackmore should be known to all Manchester United fans. A vital part of the early days of Sir Alex Ferguson, Blackmore is the only man in Man United history to have played in every outfield number and position for the club. One of the most under appreciated players in the history of Manchester United, Blackmore was a key player for Man Utd between 1982 and 1994 before following Bryan Robson to Middlesbrough.

Blackmore ended his career with 5 trophies with Manchester United and 39 caps for his native Wales

3. Steve Bruce

Before he was a stalwart manager in the Premier League - Steve Bruce was one of the finest defenders in English football. A 3x winner of the Premier League, 3x FA Cup, League Cup and Cup Winners Cup. Bruce was also the joint highest league goal scorer with Brian McClair in the 90/91 season with 13 goals, and an incredible 19 goals in all competitions in that year

Despite that he never won an England Cap

4. Mike Phelan

Manchester United through and through. Phelan played for the club between 1989 and 1994 then returned to the club to manage the reserves in the early 2000s before stepping into the coaching staff as first team coach and becoming Sir Alex's assistant manager from 2008 to Fergie's retirement in 2013. Phelan is currently assistant manager to Ole Gunnar Solksjaer

5. Gary Pallister

The other half of Manchester United's centre of defence with Steve Bruce. Gary Pallister was at one time the most expensive defender in Britain when Sir Alex brought him to Old Trafford to build the backbone of his team, costing a massive £2.3 Million in 1989

Pally spent 9 years with Manchester United and won a winners medal in every single one of Sir Alex's achievements until he returned to his beloved Middlesbrough in 1998

Winning 4 Premier League Titles, 3 FA Cups, the EFL Cup, 4 Charity Shields, the European Super Cup and the 1991 Cup Winners Cup

Pallister made 22 appearances for England between 1988 and 1996

6. Bryan Robson

Manchester United's all time greatest. Bryan Robson defines Manchester United, defines what it means to be a Captain and defines what the number 7 shirt means to the club. Without doubt it was Robbo's leadership that brought the first wave of success in Sir Alex's reign and an inspiration to everyone who followed in his footsteps from the Class of 92 to beyond

A real English football legend

7. Paul Ince

The Guv'ner. Paul Ince is divisive among the Manchester United faithful, but his role and position in Man United and English Football history cannot be denied. A vital cog in the midfield of Manchester United - Ince had it all, speed, strength and passion.

He became England's first ever Black football captain in 1993

8. Brian McClair

The first man to score 20 goals in a season for Manchester United since George Best. Choccy is one of the most popular strikers in Manchester United history. McClair scored in every round of the 1991 Cup Winners Cup apart from the final and picked up 4 Premier League titles before leaving in 1998 - famously handing the number 9 shirt over to Andy Cole, one of the funniest stories we have heard...

9. Mark Hughes

The very definition of a big game player. Mark Hughes scored both goals in the 1991 Cup Winners Cup Final and wrote his name into Manchester United history.

A classic striker, Sparky had strength, speed, skill and the ability to score world class goals and epic volleys from the slightest opportunity.

10. Lee Sharpe

One of the early poster boys for the Premier League - Lee Sharpe was one of the first young talents to make his way into the first team under the reign of Sir Alex and one of the forst to prove that you can win things with kids. Sharpe was only 19 years old when he won the Cup Winners Cup with United and played a vital part in those early years before moving on to rival Leeds in 1996

Still beloved by the Man United faithful - Lee Sharpe is every bit a United Cult hero, partly down to his natural skill as a footballer and partly down to the sharpie shuffle!

11. Mal Donaghy

Manchester United has always had a strong connection with Northern Ireland. Mal Donaghy was born in Belfast in 1957 and signed for Manchester United in 1988, staying at Old Trafford until 1992. In that time he picked up the Cup Winners Cup, FA Charity Shield and European Super Cup

12. Gary Walsh

Reserve Goalkeeper for Manchester United between 1985 and 1995. Second in line to both Les Sealey and Peter Schmeichel

13. Neil Webb

Neil Webb always delivers. The 1000th man to be capped for England, Neil Webb is a Nottingham Forest and Manchester United hero with 5 career trophies to his name

Webb was one of Sir Alex's first signings for Man United

14. Mark Robins

Robins played for Manchester United between 1988 and 1992, and after hanging up his boots in 2005 he entered the world of management and is currently the boss at Coventry City

His most memorable achievement in a Man Utd shirt is scoring the winning goal in the 1990 FA Cup semi-final replay to help secure Sir Alex Ferguson's first trophy with United

15. Danny Wallace

Manchester United between 1989 and 1993. Wallace retired from football due to his battle with multiple sclerosis. Wallace was a bright young talent at Southampton before being snapped up by Man United.

16. Lee Martin

A product of the Manchester United training system, Lee Martin wrote is name into Manchester United history books with his FA Cup winning goal in the 1990 FA Cup final, helping Sir Alex Fergsuon win his first ever trophy with Manchester United and, if rumours are to be believed' helped keep Sir Alex in a job

Don't forget to keep up with our latest news and offers by subscribing to our mailing list at the top of the page

Get social by following us on Instagram, Twitter and Facebook

223 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All


bottom of page